Home >> Colleges/Universities >> Kerala >> Calicut

Calicut University

Calicut, Kerala | Ratings: 3/5 (12 votes) - Add Review
Established : 1968 | Affiliated : Calicut University

About Calicut University

Calicut University also known as University of Calicut is a  affiliating university located at Thenjipalam in Malappuram district of Kerala state in India. Calicut University was established in 1968 and had especially strong faculty in MBA, Physics, Zoology, Chemistry, Botany, History, Education.

  • The campus locales are spread over 500 acres (2.0 km2) in rural outskirt of Malappuram, and had the feel of a hill station.
  • The University of Calicut has about 480 colleges with a total annual intake of nearly 100,000 students.
  • 279 private college are affilated the calicut university offers undergraduate degreees and postgraduate degrees.
  • 40 Engineering colleges were affiliated to Calicut University until 2014-15. From 2015-16, engineering colleges in Kerala state are affiliated to A P J Abdul Kalam Technological University formaly kerala technological university.
  • The calicut university was ranked 73 among Indian universities by the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) in 2018 and in the 101–150 band overall.
  • Notable alumni of the calicut University is Anju Bobby George- Indian athlete, M. N. Karassery - Malayalam author, Dr. K.K.N Kurup - historian and former Vice Chancellor of the University of Calicut, Shyamaprasad - Indian film director, Ayyappanpillai Ajayaghosh - Organic chemist, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar laureate
Live Application Form

Calicut University Course fee structure

BSc - Information Technology 44500 3 years
BSc - Biotechnology 44500 3 years
BSc - Economics 44500 3 years
View All

Calicut University Videos

Calicut University Campus Facilities/Infrastructure


List of colleges affiliated to the University of Calicut

Engineering and technology

Engineering colleges were affiliated to Calicut University until 2014-15. From 2015-16, engineering colleges in Kerala state are affiliated to A P J Abdul Kalam Technological University.

  • Ahalia School of Engineering and Technology, Palakkad
  • Al-Ameen College of Engineering, Kulapully, Palakkad
  • Ammini College of Engineering, Kannampariyaram, Palakkad
  • AWH Engineering College, Kozhikode
  • Axis College of Engineering and Technology
  • Calicut University Institute of Engineering and Technology, Tenhipalam
  • Eranad Knowledge City Technical Campus (EKC), Cherukulam, Manjeri
  • Government Engineering College, Kozhikode
  • Government Engineering College, Sreekrishnapuram
  • Government Engineering College, Thrissur
  • Holy Grace Academy of Engineering for Women, Mala, Thrissur
  • I E S College of Engineering, Chittilappilly, Thrissur
  • Jawaharlal College of Engineering and Technology
  • Jyothi Engineering College, Cheruthuruthy
  • KMCT College of Engineering for Women
  • KMCT College of Engineering, Mukkom, Manassery
  • Malabar College of Engineering And Technology
  • MEA Engineering College, Perinthalmanna, Malappuram
  • MES College of Engineering, Kuttippuram
  • MET's School of Engineering, Mala, Thrissur
  • National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology (NIELIT), Calicut[1]
  • Nehru College of Engineering and Research Centre
  • Nirmala College of Engineering, Kunnappilly, Thirissur
  • NSS College of Engineering, Palakkad
  • NSS College Ottapalam
  • NSS Training College Ottapalam
  • Palakkad Institute of Science and Technology
  • Prime College of Engineering For Women, Palakkad
  • Royal College of Engineering and Technology
  • Sahrdaya College of Engineering and Technology, Trissur
  • Sreepathy Institute of Management and Technology
  • Thejus Engineering College
  • Universal Engineering College, Kodungallur, Thrissur
  • Veda Vyasa Institute of Technology, Karadparamba, Malappuram
  • Vidya Academy of Science and Technology

Arts and sciences

  • Amal College of Advanced Studies, Nilambur
  • Anwarul Islam Women's Arabic College Mongam
  • Aspire College of Advanced Studies, Thrithala, Palakkad
  • Christ College, Irinjalakuda
  • CM College of Arts and Science Nadavayal
  • College of Applied Science Malappuram
  • College of Applied Science, Nadapuram
  • College of Applied Science, Vadakkencherry
  • Don Bosco College, Thrissur
  • E.M.E.A College of Arts & Science, Kondotty, Malappuram
  • Farook College, Feroke, Calicut
  • GEMS Arts & Science College, Ramapuram, Malappuram
  • Government College Chittur, Palakkad
  • Government College for Women, Malappuram
  • Government College, Madappally
  • Government College Mokeri
  • Government Victoria College, Palakkad
  • Harithagiri Regional College of Science and Humanities, Kizhisseri
  • Jamia Islamia Arts and Science College, Karakkunnu, Trakalagode, Manjeri
  • Lement College of Advanced Studies, Pattambi
  • Madeenathul Uloom Arabic College
  • Ma'din Arts and Science College, Swalath Nagar, Melmuri Post, Malappuram - 676517
  • Majlis Arts & Science College, Valanchery, Malappuram
  • Malabar Christian College, Kozhikode
  • Mar Osthatheos Arts & Science College, Perumpilavu, Thrissur
  • Markaz College of Arts and Science, Karanthur
  • Meenchantha Arts College
  • Mercy College, Palakkad
  • MES KVM College, Valanchery
  • M.E.S. Ponnani College, Ponnani
  • Mother Arts and Science College Peruvallur, Thrissur
  • Moulana College, Kuttayi, TirurPh
  • M.P.M.M.S.N Trusts College, Shoranur
  • N.M.S.M. Govt. College Kalpetta
  • NSS College, Manjeri, Malappuram-676 122
  • NSS College, Nenmara, Palakkad
  • P.S.M.O. College, P.B. No. 2, Tirurangadi, Malappuram
  • Pookoya Thangal Memorial Government Arts and Science College, Perinthalmanna
  • SNDP YSS College, Perinthalmanna,Malappuram
  • St. Aloysius College, Thrissur
  • St Joseph's College, Devagiri, Calicut
  • St Mary's College, Sulthan Bathery
  • St. Thomas College, Thrissur
  • Sahya Arts and Science College, Wandoor, Malappuram
  • Silver Arts And Science College Perambra Kozhikode
  • Sree Gokulam Arts and Science College, Balussery
  • Sree Gokulam Arts and Science College, Pazhuvil
  • Sree Kerala Varma College, Thrissur
  • Sree Narayana College, Nattika
  • Sree Narayana Guru College of Advanced Studies, Nattika
  • Sullamussalam Science College, Areekode
  • V V College of Science and Technology Kanjikode, Palakkad
  • Yuvakshetra Institute of Management Studies (YIMS), Ezhakkad, Mundur, Palakkad
  • Zamorin's Guruvayurappan College, Kozhikode-14


  • AIM Law College, Mala, Thrissur
  • Al-ameen Law College, Palakkad
  • Bavans Law College, Kozhikode
  • Government Law College, Kozhikode
  • Government Law College, Thrissur
  • KMCT Law College, Kuttippuram
  • MCT College of Legal studies, Malappuram
  • VR Krishnan Ezhuthachan Law College, Palakkad

Liberal arts

  • C.K.G. Memorial Government College, Perambra

Asked question

BSC visual communication available in Malappuram district??
15-May-2019 16:46:01 asked by mohammed sanfeer k


  • This college offers B.Sc. in following specialization:
  • Applied science/Biochemistry/ Biotechnology/Applied statistics/ Aquaculture/ Family and community science / Computer science /Electronics/Environmental Science and water management/ Botany/ Chemistry
Need Advice! Ask the question, We would be happy to help you.
Ask an Expert
Live Application Form

Contact Information

Contact Numbers:

0494 - 2407227

Email ID:



Thenjipalam,Malappuram,Kerala,India - 673635, Calicut, Kerala, India

Interested in Calicut University